RSS

Introductions

02 May

Hello, and welcome to my blog!

As you know by now (if you read my About Me section), my name is Melodie Seble. I study at the University of Oregon, and I am pursuing a dual major (journalism: public relations and Spanish) plus a minor (journalism: communication studies). Since you made it this far already, please be sure to check out my About Me and Comment Policy sections for more information.

This is me, looking rather frightened of the camera shoved in my face by a well-wishing colleague.

This blog will begin as a project for my J 452 class (called “Strategic Public Relations Communication”), and I intend to continue to blog after the class finishes.

After two years of struggling, uninspired, through generic pre-journalism classes at UO, I felt that I did not belong there, and I considered switching majors to something that would interest me more. However, when I finally took my first PR class, I knew the exciting world of public relations was right for me.

With this blog I hope to gain knowledge and experience about public relations. I will not use this blog to write about anything my heart desires – this space is for academic subjects and will have a heavy focus on PR.

My goal is to expand my digital footprint. I hope to have the opportunity to present this blog in a portfolio to a possible employer someday, so I will try to maintain a professional tone while still being interesting to my readers.

I am still learning about PR – about what it is, what it means to be a PR practitioner, and how I will fit into the PR landscape. I am dedicated to learning and improving my professional skills, and this blog will help me gain experience.

Here is my promise to you, my reader: My blog posts will be professional, interesting, relevant, accurate, and thought-provoking in some way.

Thank you for reading, and please stay tuned for more posts.

This will be a journey, so please stick with me and see what we can learn!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Introductions

  1. Paige Landsem

    May 3, 2011 at 12:17 am

    Melodie,

    It’s been great getting to know you so far this term, and I’m really excited to start reading your blog posts! I really admire the fact that you have another major entirely different from journalism. While you said your blog will be PR-focused, I’m eager to see if you combine PR and Spanish in any of your posts!

    Paige

     

Leave a Reply

 
